RBI office attendant cut off means the lowest online test score, out of 120, that got candidates of a category called to the Language Proficiency Test at a particular regional office. It is not one national number: every recruiting office fills separate seats from a separate crowd of applicants, so in the 2021 cycle the general cut off ran from 83.75 at Bengaluru to 111.25 at the Kanpur, Lucknow and Dehradun office.
Below you will find the office wise figures reported for 2021, what the latest recruitment looked like, and the way to read the scorecard once the Bank publishes it. Treat old marks as a guide to the competition, not a forecast for the coming list.
Exam at a glance
Conducted by
Reserve Bank of India, recruitment by regional officeScored out of
120 marks in the online testWho sets it
Each recruiting office, category by categoryNext stage
Language Proficiency Test, qualifying onlyNegative marking
One quarter of a mark per wrong answerHighest general cut off, 2021
111.25 (Kanpur, Lucknow and Dehradun)Where it appears
With results and marks on rbi.org.in
RBI office attendant cut off: how each office sets it
Office Attendant recruitment is done state by state. When you apply, you pick one recruiting office, and you can only compete for the posts of that office. You also need to have passed class 10 from that state or union territory and be able to handle its local language. Our page on RBI office attendant eligibility covers those rules in full.
After the online test the Bank ranks candidates office by office and category by category. The score of the final candidate called to the next stage become the cut off for that box. Three things push it up or down:
- Posts in your office and category. A large office with few general seats will close high.
- How many people applied there. States with a big pool of matriculates chasing few seats show the highest figures.
- Paper difficulty. A harder set of questions lowers scores across the board.
The Bank's notices have also said it can fix minimum marks for each test and for the total. Read that clause in your notification, because it means a strong total alone may not be enough.
RBI office attendant previous year cut off: 2021 online test
| Recruiting office | General | OBC | EWS | SC | ST |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ahmedabad | 96.5 | 81.75 | 75.5 | not reported | 81 |
| Bengaluru | 83.75 | not reported | 67 | 83.75 | not reported |
| Bhopal and Raipur | 105.75 | not reported | 103.25 | not reported | 82 |
| Bhubaneswar | 105.75 | 103.5 | 98.75 | 104.75 | 85.75 |
| Chandigarh | 110 | 104 | 104.5 | 103 | not reported |
| Chennai | 92 | 89 | 71 | not reported | not reported |
| Guwahati group (Agartala, Aizawl, Imphal, Shillong) | 92.5 | 88.25 | 63.25 | not reported | 88.5 |
| Hyderabad | 103.25 | 102.75 | 97.75 | 99.75 | 100.75 |
| Jammu | 96.25 | 91.25 | not reported | not reported | 78 |
| Jaipur | 108.25 | 105.5 | 104.5 | not reported | 101.25 |
| Kanpur, Lucknow and Dehradun | 111.25 | 104.25 | 108 | not reported | not reported |
| Kolkata and Gangtok | 106 | 102.5 | 98.5 | 103.75 | not reported |
| Mumbai, Navi Mumbai and Panaji | 92.75 | 86.25 | 79 | not reported | 85.25 |
| Nagpur | 100 | 100 | 72 | 100 | 63.5 |
| New Delhi | 105 | 102.75 | 100.5 | not reported | not reported |
| Patna and Ranchi | 110.25 | 108 | 109 | not reported | not reported |
| Thiruvananthapuram and Kochi | 99.75 | 99.75 | 79 | not reported | not reported |
These are the figures reported from the 2021 recruitment, which had 841 posts across the country. Where a cell says not reported, the published lists we checked gave no figure, usually because that office had no vacancy in that category or too few candidates to show one. Patna and Ranchi appears as 110.25 in most reports, though one rounds it to about 111.
What the 2021 marks tell you
Look past individual cells and some clear trends appear.
- North and east close highest. Kanpur group, Patna and Ranchi, Chandigarh and Jaipur were all at 108 or above for general candidates, which leaves room for only about a dozen marks of errors and skips.
- South and west were gentler. Bengaluru, Chennai and Mumbai all stayed under 93.
- Category gaps vary a lot. At Hyderabad the OBC and general marks were half a mark apart, while at Guwahati EWS closed near 63 against a general figure above 92.
So the office you choose shapes your target almost as much as study does. You cannot pick an office for its lower cut off unless you meet its state and language rules, but you should know what score your office has asked for in the past.
The latest recruitment and its cut off
The most recent drive, for panel year 2025, offered 572 Office Attendant posts. The online test was held over two days at the end of February and the start of March, and the Bank published roll numbers picked for the language round in June.
At the time of writing we could not confirm an official office wise cut off table for this cycle. The Bank has usually released marks and cut offs on its recruitment pages after the shortlist, so check rbi.org.in for the scorecard notice. With far fewer posts than in 2021, many aspirants expect higher figures, but read any predicted figure on the internet as a guess, not data.
Minimum marks, cut off and the language test
It helps to separate three ideas:
- Minimum marks. The floor the Bank may set for each section and for the total. Fall below it and you are out, whatever your rank.
- The cut off. The last score in your office and category that was called to the language test. This is what most people search for.
- The language test. The LPT is a pass or fail check. It never adds marks, yet a fail there knocks you out however high you ranked.
Final selection follows the online test merit among those who clear the language test, then document checks and a medical test. This post has no interview round.
Reaching a safe score in the online test
The online test has 120 questions in 90 minutes, with reasoning, English, awareness and arithmetic carrying 30 apiece, with a quarter mark lost for every wrong answer. Every subtopic is listed on our RBI office attendant syllabus guide.
To land above a 100 plus cut off you need almost every section close to full marks. A few habits help:
- Aim for 27 or more in numerical ability and reasoning, where answers are certain once you know the method.
- Read banking and economy news daily, since general awareness questions often lean on the Reserve Bank itself.
- Use timed full tests built from RBI office attendant old question papers to see where your 90 minutes go.
- Leave a question blank unless only two answers still look possible; with a quarter mark penalty, random picks usually drain your score.
Checking your marks and the official list
The Bank posts recruitment notices, results and marks under the opportunities section of rbi.org.in. Pick the notice matching your panel year, open the result for your recruiting office, and then use the marks link, which asks for your registration number and date of birth. Your scorecard shows your section marks and, when released, the cut off for your office and category.
Keep a saved copy. If you are called to the language test, the Bank will ask for documents proving your class 10 pass from the state and your category, so gather those early.
Frequently asked questions
Do all states share one RBI office attendant cut off?
No. Every recruiting office closes at a different mark in each category, because posts and applicants differ by office. In 2021 the general figure ranged from 83.75 at Bengaluru to 111.25 at the Kanpur, Lucknow and Dehradun office.
What was the highest RBI office attendant previous year cut off?
Among the 2021 figures reported, the highest general cut off was 111.25 out of 120 at the Kanpur, Lucknow and Dehradun office, followed by Patna and Ranchi at 110.25 and Chandigarh at 110.
Is the newest drive's cut off out yet?
The shortlist for the language test came out in June for the panel year 2025 drive, but we could not confirm an official office wise cut off table. Check the results and marks notices on rbi.org.in for your office.
Does the RBI office attendant exam use section wise minimum marks?
The Bank's notices allow it to fix minimum marks for each test and for the total. The exact rule and any numbers appear in the advertisement and the result notice of your drive, so read them rather than relying on reports.
Does the language test change my merit?
No. The Language Proficiency Test is qualifying only. Merit comes from your online test score, but you must pass the language test to stay in the race.
What score should I aim for?
Use the 2021 figure for your own office and category as the floor and add a few marks of margin, since the latest drive had fewer posts. For most northern and eastern offices that means about 110 or more out of 120.